top of page
  • Youtube
  • Facebook
  • X
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureDan Tortora

EXCLUSIVE - Katie Kolinski Retained by DiPillo


Katie Kolinski, a native of Central New York and West Genesee High School alum, has been asked to stay on staff by Nick DiPillo, keeping the longtime basketball mind right here in Syracuse, New York.


DiPillo shared the news with me directly, stating that Kolinski will serve as an assistant coach on the Le Moyne Dolphins women’s basketball team under his leadership.


“Being at Le Moyne is everything to me and my family,” Kolinski exclaimed, in conversation with me. “I love everything about the school, the community , and the Jesuit values. I believe Le Moyne is truly a special place and I could not be happier to be able to keep working for such a special place with special people.”


“I love everything about coach Nick,” Kolinski went on to say. “He has such a unique background in coaching and has coached at the highest programs. I will learn so much from him and that is exciting for me. He is one of the best people I have ever been around and I am so excited to be on his staff and be able to stay home. Family is important to me and he is the definition of a family person. Our values align in many ways.”


Kolinski spent seven seasons under Jim Boeheim as a member of the Syracuse Orange men’s basketball staff, followed by her time as an assistant the Buffalo Bulls and Lafayette Leopards women’s basketball programs.


She returned to Syracuse, New York, last season when former Le Moyne women’s basketball head coach Mary Grimes hired Kolinski during her final season at the helm of the program.


“I can’t wait to continue on staff here,” Kolinski expressed. “We have such a great group of young woman on our team and being able to stay on staff and coach them is a dream come true for me.”


“I can’t wait to see who else joins us on staff here and I think it’s going to be another special season for us.”


DiPillo, with Kolinski on staff, will help lead the Dolphins into Year 2 of their transition to NCAA Division 1.

bottom of page